Traveling Through Tel Aviv’s T: Market Part 1

Just as in any city or country around the world, Israel definitely has its mainstream shops, its retail, its big names.  But it’s also an amazing area for some really great vintage, some indie underground and the kind of trendy attire everyone should be wearing, but aren’t—yet.  

Nowhere is this more apparent than the T-Market, a traveling carnival throughout the land cascading forward in an array of indie brands that plops itself down in the biggest cities in the country for a hipster shopper’s delight. 

It all started with some trendy t-shirts.  The T-Market was once just a small gathering of indie artists who were designing their t-shirts as works of art.  It was a way to scope out how different designers depicted the basic tee.  But in the first two days of the first original market, the space was filled to capacity with over 5,000 people and the Market continued to grow. 

It became a traveling circus, if you will, showcasing over 70 designers in more than four cities in Israel. And no worries if you miss it, you can check out the T-Market website to find out when the next one will be.  Make sure you dance from table to table—apparently its a T-Market tradition to do so.

Although I’ve come across a lot of indie designers in Israel, I’ve also become used to more of the mainstream here—the retail, the Dizengoff shops, even Shenkin is getting up there in the places where EVERYONE goes.   For this reason, it was quite a breath of fresh air to visit the T-Market when it stopped in Tel Aviv last weekend. It felt like I was in the midst of Tel Aviv underground supreme without making a foray into a hidden nightclub in the back corner of Tel Aviv. 

tshirt 001

The T-Market was started as a small gathering to showcase the innovative ways artists were designing the most popular selling item of clothing. But in only the first two days of the original market, the space was flooded with over 7,000 people scouring to find the t-shirt that best fit their personality. The T-Market has continued to grow, showcasing over 70 designers and traveling to over four cities in Israel.Although you may have missed your chance to discover your favorite new t-shirt to add to your collection in Tel Aviv, you can check out the T-Market’s Web siteto see when and where you can get the next opportunity to dance from table to table, a T-Market tradition. Or if you can’t make it to Israel, check out their video below to catch a glimpse of what the T-Market is all about.

T: Market Promo

In Tel Aviv, the T-Market happens something like once every couple of months.  If anything, it’s a great way to reboot your t-shirts and accessories collection.  Lots of newer brands, with dresses, shorts, even shoes, are making their way onto the scene, though and its no longer merely a T-Market.

Tel Aviv’s T-Market was once again held in the club Barzilay, one of those indie chic meccas in south Tel Aviv where all the hipsters gather on Friday nights. 

While grungy break dancers with flannel shirts and trucker hats cut a move on the floor in the middle of the aisle, elegant chicks with blunt bangs, neon print tees, and leather bomber jackets mingled with their designer friends and eyed up neon sneakers.

tshirt 021

I loved Jen’s colorful brush stroke top and Petit A’s florals.  Spoiled Bastard’s graphic art tees are always top notch and Noveau Rich Dog’s two tone colorblocked shoes caught my eye.  Whytrash’s bow charms and sweet cupcake jewelry stole my heart. 

Sister M, Pola Roxa, Inbal Raviv, Anna K, Plastic Doll, X-ray, Waste, Whytrash, Noveau Rich Dog, Shushine, and Yiddish Chic held their own for three days among more than 90 designers during  the last days of Passover

tshirt 003

For more on my wandering through Tel Aviv’s T-Market, check out the the next blog post for special highlights of Sister M, Jen, and Inbal Raviv.

Photos: T-Market

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Traveling Through Tel Aviv’s T: Market Part 1

  1. sherry says:

    HI! I love your blog. And I love your views on Israeli fashion!

    I’m unsure of the right protocol for including a link to another blog, but in my blog post today, I included a link to you and to the post on the T-Market (which was terrific). Please let me know if this is not okay, and I will most certainly and immediately remove it. I’m sorry if I violated any blogger rules of conduct.

    Best!
    Sherry

    • Simona says:

      Thank you so much! I am really really flattered that you thought my review was good enough to re-link! (There’s another one coming up too because I just have so much to say and I know people don’t have the attention span to read really long posts!) Anyway, I looked at your blog as well and really love your point of view and the things you pick up on in living in Tel Aviv! What is your opinion on Israeli fashion and what did you think of the T-Market?

      • sherry says:

        Hi. Thank you for checking out my blog. I am having a blast writing it.

        I enjoyed the T-market. It was really fun and both my husband and I found some cool things we will love wearing. In regards to Israeli fashion, I am kind of mesmerized by the “anything goes” attitude of many men and women in the way they dress (this may be unique to TA–I haven’t traveled around a lot). I am really enjoying browsing at the 2nd hand clothing places, and the small boutiques where you can find interesting items. I have also gone to the Accessories market, and the vintage clothing event at Lima Lima. Have you ever been to one of the Plastik events? (www.telavivcity.com/plastik11)

        I am really enjoying your blog and your perspectives on fashion.

      • Simona says:

        Yes, you’re right, that anything goes attitude is pretty central to Tel Aviv, though I’ve seen it crop up in Jerusalem too. Sometimes it works, and most of the time it doesn’t. I haven’t been to the Accessories market yet and I’ve heard a lot about the vintage market at Lima Lima but haven’t been either. However, I have been to the Plastik Shuk and I’m surprised it’s back already, since i JUST wrote about it in January. You can read about it here: http://fashionisrael.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/this-weekend-was-all-about-the-plastic/ It probably will be much of the same, very similar to the T: Market without the t-shirts!

  2. eileen says:

    Hello
    i was curious to know where you got that brush stroke blouse from!

    thanks!

    eileen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

