To Be a Tourist

After a longer blog break then I expected, recovering after a week long excursion to Prague and Budapest, I’m back to to the blog.  Fortunately, most of you have kept up with reading even while I’m away and I’m really flattered that you like to know about Israeli fashion.



Here’s a dilemma I faced while I was away.  A while back, I wrote about  seeing a blogger dress differently in different countries (America vs. Israel.) The same sort of debate cropped up in my head while I was away.  Prague and Budapest were obviously much more European than Israel, not to mention cooler than the temps here. Did that mean I should have dressed differently?

Since my mother was so kindly bringing some things from America (bras are cheaper in the States as is makeup, just so you know) I knew I couldn’t pack a lot.  For a fashionista who wants to bring her entire wardrobe along for the ride–this is so tough.

Do I bring piece I love or the versatile pieces that go with anything? Do I lug along the high-heeled boots or trade them for gladiator sandals. Shouldn’t one forgo comfort for style while on vacation? Maybe I’d need sneakers for long winded walking excursions.  And do the Budapest and Prague civilians really care what I looked like?

My uniform for pretty much the entire trip. Polka dot keds, black bomber jacket and yoga pants.

Here’s what always happens on vacations.  Either I’ll bring way too much clothes and end up wearing one or two pairs of yoga pants with sneakers to EVERYTHING or I’ll bring way too little and berate myself for not bringing the outfits that I wanted to change into once or twice a day.

Second Day in Prague. You couldn't even see what I was wearing because I wore a thick jacket over it all day. Floral top is Inbal Raviv and Skirt is from Kikar Masaryk.

Here’s what happened in Prague.  I packed light but I did bring a wide arrange of styles.  My wardrobe ran the gamut from black tights and leggings to neon print t-shirts to silk dresses to floral tops to black trousers.  I tried not to bring really heavy pieces because I knew they took more room.  And I did a good job with the variety.  The thing was–Prague itself was so cold that I layered on cardigans and my semi-warm bomber jacket so much that you barely got to see what was underneath. I also didn’t bring proper scarves because for some reason, I was in that Israeli mentality and just assumed every country was only slightly colder then Israel (where it’s loose layers, flip flops and shorts season right now.) I didn’t think about rain (we had a lot of it) and I didn’t think about proper shoes (I wore maybe two of the four pairs I brought the whole time because they were the easiest to walk in.) And I was comfortable with my mom the whole time so why did I need to dress up anyway?

Budapest was warmer and I felt like I was slightly more fashionable there (Budapest in general seemed more fashionable to me than Prague) but I didn’t go out as much at night as I did in Prague.  So at the same time, where did i really have to wear my nice outfits?

In Budapest with my Hungarian friend Tomas, where I was slightly more fashionable

The point of this story is–remember where you came from and remember where you’re going (and know that they’re not the same!)

I was once used to ever changing temperatures and thick winds in New Jersey when I used to live there, thus I dressed accordingly.  But now that I’m so used to the warm weather in Israel, I get overwhelmed when I feel or have to get dressed for the cold because I’m just not used to it anymore.

Sometimes I think that Israelis feel like they’re entitled to everything they want in foreign countries, even the appropriate weather. But Mother Nature does what she will and listens to no one–even the proud Israeli man. Dress appropriately and don’t let this happen to you!

3 thoughts on “To Be a Tourist

Leave a Reply

