“Why Jerusalem’s American Apparel Does It For Me”

Author: Beverley Paris

On my continuing search for style in the holy city I decided it was time descend on American Apparel to check out what’s new. I know, it’s not exactly an Israeli brand but I thought a reasonable compromise as it’s my favorite place to shop in Jerusalem and I believe it’s owned by a Jew.   I was wearing my oldest, most faded pair of skinny jeans and an American Apparel tunic dress (if you’re going shopping somewhere I find it helpful if you wear an appropriate piece from the brand in question.  You don’t want to overdo it but you want to show respect), my favorite Anthropolgie ethnic scarf and of course my tsumori chisato for She Umera eye bling.

I walked past the inevitable Jerusalem landmarks, lost tourists on Emek Rafiam asking in English if I speak English and where Emek Rafiam the street they were standing on, might be – the King David and my own personal favorite, a hot-dog stand called Doggy Style (I kid you not).  I also happened upon a rust brown Cadillac decked out in pink ribbons.  I turned onto Rivlin and walked past a café called Tel Aviv and I swished into American Apparel and breathed a sigh of relief.

So why does American Apparel so thoroughly do it for me?  I love their branding  – they’re clever, provocative and young.  They have clothes that every woman can wear. By that I mean this: clearly their stuff is styled for impossibly skinny 16 year olds and as a slightly older (without giving it all away you can add a decade or so to that number) and far-from malnourished woman, I still find stuff that I love.

The clothes wear well and I love the way the brands appeals to my wannabe urban chic sensibilities.  They are also remotely socially conscious, although guys you have to lose the awesome plastic shopping bags.

I also have a bit of a crush on their sales team, I guess they are hired for their own look, they are all super hip but also really genuinely helpful.  The Israeli shopping experience is not always a pleasant one, often times a sales person descends upon you, sticks like glue and follows you around the shop and if you do dare to try something on which clearly looks objectively awful, he/she’ll shriek in broken English “Mami, MAXIM”…. You whimper and try to get the thing off hoping that no one on the street catches a glimpse of just how unflattering the outfit in question is!

Satin Charmeuse Loose Tank

My favorite piece from their new collection is the Satin Charmeuse Loose Tank thanks to the lovely male sales person who after I tried it on  and worried about a questionably unflattering display of back-fat, shared with me the dark brown polka dot pattern. He was a gem and so smart, it looked great.  I love it, thank you skinny-legs jeaned man that matched my own with the funky glasses.

Nylon Tricot Legging
Le Sac Dress

Other things that that make me giggle, Nylon Tricot Legging in gold because really who doesn’t deserve their own Flashdance moment? My  all time favorite piece the Le Sac Dress, I own this, I bought it last year in electric blue with a navy blue and white tie and I love it, I wear it all summer long, it’s comfortable and I feel very cute/sexy in it – perhaps I’m an all American gal at heart.  I extra heart American Apparel.

My favorite piece from their new collection is the Satin Charmeuse Loose Tank thanks to the lovely male sales person who after I tried the on the one in link and was worrying about a questionably unflattering display of back-fat shared with me the dark brown polka dot pattern, he was a gem and so smart, it looked great.  I love it, thank you skinny-legs jeaned man that matched my own with the funky glasses.  Other things that that make me giggle, Nylon Tricot Legging in gold because really who doesn’t deserve their own Flashdance moment? My  all time favorite piece the Le Sac Dress, I own this, I bought it last year in electric blue with a navy blue and white tie and I love it, I wear it all summer long, it’s comfortable and I feel very cute/sexy in it – perhaps I’m an all American gal at heart.  I extra heart American Apparel.
Leave a Reply

