An Israeli Shoe Dilemma (And The Problem With Buying Shoes in Israel)

I’m in the North this weekend and upon a trip to the local mall (The Kiriyon, it’s called, since all the suburbs in the area are Kiriyot…Kiriyat Motzkin, Kiriyat Bialik, etc.), I came across these beauties and had to add them to my collection.

They’re from a sort of young, urban store called Grip which is not often my favorite kind of place, but they have lots of great off-the-shoulder tees there.

I fell in love with their gray color, their dressed texture, and the design of the shoe–round toe Mary-Janes with more than one buckle and a heel that wasn’t too high.  And when I tried them on they were extremely, extremely comfortable.

So why did I hesitate to buy them at first? There were a few reasons.

First, Israeli shoes can be extremely pricey for their quality.  Luckily, not so for these shoes but normally I end up going to more expensive places to find quality shoes I don’t end up wearing just so they don’t fall apart with just a few wears.

If you’ve read my shoe posts on this blog in the past, then you’ll know I have a slight problem with buying shoes in Israel that are not high-quality.  And so, apparently, do many Israelis.  But our bank accounts can’t handle that, of course.

The problem with cheaper Israeli shoes is that they tend to fall apart very, very easily.  They are not made well and the soles cave in, the shoes rip and the rocky, unpaved road add lots of wear and tear to the shoe.

The other problem (the bigger problem in my opinion) is that I’ve succumb to rarely wearing heels in this country.  It could be because I rarely see other Israeli girls wearing heels (and when they do it’s usually only for club-hopping or they’ll substitute stilettos for square heeled shoes because they’d rather wear comfortable shoes.) Also, as I mentioned, the dirt (it is desert country after all!) and rocky, unpaved roads (usually found outside of Tel Aviv, but in TA too) make it extremely hard to walk in heels.

Still, upon feeling how comfortable they were…and loving their look, I took them home.  On the way home, my friend picked me up with his girlfriend who is an American with Israeli parents. So I told her about my dilemma and she agree wholeheartedly.

“I know, she said, in Los Angeles, everyone drives, so I just wear heels to the office and I don’t really need to walk in them.  And everyone needs to wear heels when you go to clubs in the US,” she said.

Not so in Israel, flip flops, gladiator sandals or pretty flats will do.

“I left most of my heels in America. I’m not going to wear them here. I wear sandals all the time,” she said.

As do I.  So what will become of these shoes? Will there be an outfit post soon? Do I wear them to my favorite bar where almost no one dresses up? Or do I make a dancing night of it just so I can make sure to wear the heels?

Or will I forgo them for my common flats?

Will they get thrown into the mess of pumps, high heels, and shoes in my closet? This remains to be seen.

Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “An Israeli Shoe Dilemma (And The Problem With Buying Shoes in Israel)

  1. Amit

    I know what you mean. I just got back from New York where the already tall ladies are always wearing heels.
    Out of the 5 pairs of shoes I brought back with me, 2 are heels, which I’m afraid won’t see much sun ( or moon for that matter). I just can’t think of where to wear them to, without being the overdressed one.

  2. roz

    love the shoes! and my new favorite pair is also from grip! i got two for 100 and they looked great and comfortable for two wears now they just look like crap… oh well…

Leave a Reply

